Ingrid C. Burke

Director, Haub School of Environment and Natural Resources
Professor, Wyoming Excellence Chair in Ecology

Curriculum Vitae

Burke Google Scholar Page

Burke: Follow on Research Gate

Burke Researcher ID Page (ISI Web of Science)

Burke: Follow on Twitter and Instagram

Ingrid C. "Indy" Burke,  Ph.D.

Director, Haub School of Environment and Natural Resources


Dr. Burke directs the Haub School of Environment and Natural Resources, which advances the understanding and resolution of complex environmental and natural resources challenges.

Through  academic programs and the William D. Ruckelshaus Institute, the Haub School:

  • Educates undergraduate and graduate students through innovative and interdisciplinary teaching;and 

  • Supports stakeholder-driven solutions to environmental challenges by conducting and communicating relevant research and promoting collaborative decision making

What makes our School so unique is that we bring together disciplines from across campus to solve real problems in natural resources - and we get our students engaged in developing solutions.  We bring together natural sciences (wildlife, botany, soils, water) with social sciences (economics, decision analysis, collaborative problem-solving) and humanities (environmental values and thought, journalistic and creative writing, the arts) in new and innovative ways. We are always developing new curricula, new partnerships and new solutions.  Check out our new student information page - see videos of our alumni and current students. See our Facebook Page, Instagram, and Tumbler, and follow our Ruckelshaus Institute work on Twitter. Our new magazine, Western Confluence, covers the emerging natural resources issues of the Rocky Mountain West. We are always doing exciting new things to impact students, and natural resources issues worldwide. 


Dr. Burke is an ecosystem ecologist, focusing on carbon and nitrogen cycling in semi-arid rangeland ecosystems. Her work with graduate students, postdoctoral associates, and colleagues addresses the influence of land use management, climatic variability, and regional variability on these ecosystems. She teaches in the fields of environmental science, ecosystem ecology, and biogeochemistry. Current courses include a freshman course "Environment" in the Haub School, "Ecology as a Profession" for Ph.D. students in the Program in Ecology, and an upper level/graduate course in "Biogeochemistry".   

Service: Dr. Burke serves the national scientific community through service on scientific panels and committees, with the goal of bringing science to critical policy issues. 

Selected Honors and Awards: 


  • 2010                Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Sciences
  • 2004–‘05         National Academy of Sciences Education Fellow in the Life Science
  • 1993–‘98         National Science Foundation Presidential Faculty Fellow Award


  • 2012                 Promoting Intellectual Engagement Award, University of Wyoming
  • 2008                 USDA Agricultural Research Service, Rangeland Resources Unit: Award for Enhancing Collaborative Research Partnerships
  • 2007                  Colorado State University, Warner College Distinguished Teaching/Advising Award
  • 2005 & 1995      Colorado State University Honors Professor
  • 2001 -                University Distinguished Teaching Scholar, Colorado State University (lifetime title)
  • 2000                  Mortar Board Rose Award, Colorado State University
  • 1997                  Outstanding Woman Scholar Award, Virginia Commonwealth University